Management & Leadership: Companies and Leaders
Introduction
This page houses resources on companies, the people who run them, and what makes a leader.
Company Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
- MarketLine Company Profiles This link opens in a new windowComprises thousands of company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, and 110+ country profiles. Also includes Databooks: Company Financial & Top Ten Industry Players Guide, Financial deals, news and opinions, Market Data Analytics.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowProvides access to S&P industry surveys, stock reports, mutual fund reports, bond reports, corporation records, etc.
- SEC EDGAR(From the US Securities and Exchange Commission's website:) The EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to research a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC. You can also research information provided by mutual funds (including money market funds), exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and variable annuities.
- Yahoo! FinanceCheck the stock price of a company in real time, research companies and industries, and keep abreast of up-to-the-minute financial news.
- U.S. Census - Business & IndustryThe U.S. Economic Census is a superb primary source when researching industry and trade.
- Employer Identification Number (EIN)Employers can be identified by an EIN, an Employer Identification Number issued by the Internal Revenue Service for tax purposes. EIN Finder offers a free lookup but registration is required.
- SWIFT Business Entity IdentifierAnother identifier is the alphanumeric BIC or Business Identifier Code (sometimes referred to as the Business Entity Identifier or BEI). A lookup tool is provided by SWIFT, an international cooperative organization that facilitates financial transactions, particularly between financial institutions.
SWOT Analysis
A SWOT analysis is a strategic planning tool that is used to assess the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats involved in an organization, business or a project. A SWOT analysis is particularly useful in identifying both internal and external factors that are essential in decision-making. There are not SWOT analyses available for all companies in these databases. If there has not been one published on your company, or if your company is a privately owned, you may need to put together a SWOT analysis yourself using information found in company reports in these databases.
- SWOT analysisFrom Collins Dictionary of Business
A framework for identifying the internal strengths (S) and weaknesses (W) of a firm, and the external opportunities (O) open to it and the threats (T) it faces.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFrom the main search page, go to Company Information (at the top of the page), and search for your company. Open the company profile and click "SWOT Analyses" on the left side of the page. This will open a list of available SWOT analysis reports for that company, including older reports.
Business Source Complete is your best bet for SWOT analyses, but you can also check Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage and Statista for these.
Leaders Research Resources
- Biography: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes authoritative reference information alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news-makers. Search or browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowSearch for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. Limit by source type, and searchable indexes can be used to browse by biography name, document type, geographic terms and more. Original content supplemented with new biographies and updated versions of preexisting articles.
- Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new windowContains biographical profiles on celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and others. Search by occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday etc.
Good search terms in order to find information on a particular leadership concepts:
- Leadership Educational leadership -- United States -- Case studies
- Command of troops -- History -- 20th century
- Executive coaching
- Professional Ethics
Leadership Theorists
- Fred Fiedler (1922 - ): Topic PageAlthough his initial training at the University of Chicago was in clinical psychology, Fiedler has always been interested in industrial and organizational psychology.
- Francis Galton (1822 - 1911): Topic PageFrancis Galton was born into a Quaker family with considerable wealth acquired first from trade as gun manufacturers and more recently from banking.
- Abraham Maslow (1908 - 1970): Topic PageUS psychologist. A professor at Brooklyn College (1937-51) and Brandeis University (1951-61), he is regarded as the founder of humanistic psychology.
- David McClelland (1917 - 1998): Topic PageDavid McClelland is the founder and chairman of the Board of MoBer and Co. and Professor of Psychology at Harvard University. His forty years of research have resulted in an internationally recognized theory of human motivation.
- Victor Vroom (1932 - )From Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Victor Vroom was born and grew up in Montreal, Canada. During his youth, he was fascinated by jazz music and played the saxophone in bands. He went to the Sir George Williams College in Montreal, where he had his first contact with psychology.