eTC login page864-646-1750 (Circulation)Other Library InformationChat with a LibrarianPrinting in the Library

Databases & eReference Sources: Database Home

Specialized Databases

Scroll down for a listing of our specialized databases
↓    ↓
But first, check this out!

Our Special Subject Pages

We now have special subject pages for almost every field--Business, Nursing, Literature, Psychology, and MANY more.

For each field, the Special Page will provide, all in one place, all the resources you're likely to need for your research--specialized databases, eReference sources, eBooks, and more.

Special Subject Pages:
the best place for in-depth SUBJECT RESEARCH!

 

Databases by Subject
(For a listing with fuller descriptions, click here)

Agricultural Sciences
(See also Biological & Life Sciences)

  • Agricola
    Huge database from the National Agricultural Library, covering fields broadly related to agriculture, including Veterinary
    Medicine.
     
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
    Also includes biochemistry, biotechnology, environmental science, etc.

Art & Architecture

  • Art Full Text
    Art history, architecture, decorative and folk art, commercial art, photography, etc.

Auto Repair

Biological & Life Sciences
(See also Agricultural Sciences)

  • Science in Context
    Academic journals, plus background reference sources and multimedia.

     
  • Science Reference Center
    Strong coverage across the life sciences.

     
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
    Good coverage of biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, microbiology, marine biology, environmental science, and much more.

     
  • PubMed Central
    Vast archive of the journal literature accross all of the life sciences and biomedical fields.

     
  • JSTOR
    Included here are many of the premier journals in biology and related fields.

Business & Economics

 

Career & Vocational

  • LearningExpress 3.0
    Innovative, online learning platforms that enable colleges, universities, technical schools, and career institutes to give their students valuable extra support in the areas where they need it most.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Our premier source for persuasive papers & speeches. Pro/con views on all of the current "hot" topics and issues. Plus court case overviews, journal articles, book chapters, extensive multimedia, statistics, websites.

     
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Includes Hundreds of topics, each with an overview, a point, a counterpoint, and a Critical Thinking Guide. Content includes magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, reference books, and video. Provides research guides for debates, developing arguments, writing persuasive essays and more.

     

Criminal Justice

Education

  • Educator's Reference Complete
    Comprehensive resource covering multiple levels of education from preschool to college.
     
  • Education Full Text
    Broad coverage across all educational fields, including adult education, teaching methods, etc.
     
  • Teacher Reference Center
    Oriented specifically toward teachers, this database provides coverage of popular teacher and administrator journals.

Environmental Sciences

  • Greenr (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
    Innovative and unusual database that provides access to academic journals, primary source documents, case studies, statistics, news, rich multimedia. Browse hundreds of issues and topics. A great place to begin.
     
  • GreenFILE
    Scholarly, government, and general-interest sources covering such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.

Film & Television

Health & Medicine
(see also Nursing & Allied Health; Biology & Life Sciences)

  • Health & Wellness Resource Center
    Provides access to thousands of full-text medical journals, general interest periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Detailed coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
     
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Oriented primarily to students in the medical, nursing, and allied health fields. Includes hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
     
  • MEDLINE with Full Text
    Comprehensive coverage of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system.
     
  • Health Source--Consumer Edition
    Extensive coverage of consumer health information: medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, general health.
     
  • Alt HealthWatch
    The focus here is on alternative, complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

History

  • History Reference Center
    Includes material from academic journals and reference books, as well as historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and videos.
     
  • U.S. History in Context
    Browse topics & issues dealing with all aspects of U.S. History. Academic journals, primary sources, rich multimedia.
     
  • World History in Context
    Browse topics & issues dealing with all aspects of World History. Academic journals, primary sources, rich multimedia.

Hospitality & Tourism

Humanities

Jewish Studies

  • Jewish Studies Source
    Sources include academic journals, newspapers, reference sources, and biographies.

Law & Legal Studies

  • Westlaw Campus Research
    Provides access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related sources. Law Content includes more than 800 law reviews, the US Code, the CFR, all federal and state court cases, statutes from all 50 states, and much more. Our principal resource for doing legal research.

     
  • WestlawNext
    Provide authoritative content for both primary law and exclusive secondary law titles.

     

Library & Information Science

Literature

  • Literature Notebooks Online
    Produced here at TCTC, this easy-to-use database offers quick links to more than 8000 critical analyses and interpretations of individual literary works. Probably the best place to start your literary research.
     
  • Literature Resource Center
    Large-scale database containing both literary criticism and literary biography.
     
  • Literature Criticism Online
    Criticism relating to authors who died after 1900.
     
  • Bloom's Literary Reference Online
    Critical analyses and interpretations from the various series edited by the renowned literary scholar, Harold Bloom.
     
  • Literary Reference Center
    Good for background information on authors and literary works (includes the Masterplots series). Also some literature criticism.

Military & Government
(see also Political Science)

Music

  • Music Online
    Hundreds of thousands of audio recordings in all musical genres that you can listen to, plus scores and an extensive reference library.

News & Newspapers

  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Includes more than 800 newspapers and hundreds of thousands of television and radio news transcripts.

     
  • Newswires
    Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press. Content is held for a rolling 30-day archive.

Nursing & Allied Health
(see also Health & Medicine)

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    Our most comprehensive resource for Nursing & Allied Health.
     
  • Nursing Resource Center
    Much more than a regular database, NRC is specifically designed for students in nursing programs. Search results are presented under tabs for Diseases & Conditions, Assessments, Diagnostics, Interventions, Drugs, Care Plans, and Multimedia.
     
  • Nursing & Allied Health Collection
    For nursing students and researchers who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all kinds of patients.
     
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Full-text access to more than 500 scholarly journals. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
     
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center
    Provides access to thousands of full-text medical journals, general interest periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Detailed coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
     
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Oriented primarily to students in the medical, nursing, and allied health fields. Millions of articles across all of the medical & health fields. Plus hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
     
  • MEDLINE with Full Text
    Comprehensive coverage of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system.

Political Science

Psychology & Mental Health
(see also Health & Medicine)

Religion & Philosophy

Science & Technology

  • Science Reference Center
    Comprehensive database covering all of the sciences.
     
  • Science in Context
    In addition to academic journals, provides background reference material and much multimedia.
     
  • Access Science
    Our best source for in-depth background and overview articles on all aspects of science and technology.

     
  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text
    Coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and much more. Especially good for topics in all of the EIT fields.
     
  • ProQuest Science & Technology
    Especially strong in computers, electronics, engineering, and all EIT fields.

Social Sciences

  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Broad coverage of the journal literature across all of the social science fields: political science, history, sociology, psychology, geography.

Veterinary Science

  • Agricola
    Huge database from the National Agricultural Library, with excellent coverage of Veterinary Medicine.
     
  • ProQuest
    Strong coverage of veterinary topics.
     
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
    Extensive veterinary coverage.
     
  • MEDLINE with Full Text
    Veterinary Medicine is a featured specialty.
     
  • JSTOR
    The large group of zoological journals here contains a wealth of material on veterinary topics.

Women's & Gender Issues

  • Contemporary Women's Issues
    The focus here is on "critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries."

Chat with us

TCTC Library

All-Discipline Databases
& eReference Sources

Use our DATABASES to search for Journal Articles and background material in authoritative eReference Sources

Our Most Popular General Databases

 Coverage Across All Fields and Disciplines

 

     Academic Search Complete    
Full-text articles from thousands of peer-reviewed journals across all academic fields, plus articles from hundreds of popular magazines.

NEW!  Now searches journal articles AND our EBSCO eBook Collection AT THE SAME TIME!

 

       Academic OneFile     
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Many popular, general interest magazines included as well.

 

       Opposing Viewpoints in Context    
One-stop source for information on today's hottest issues and controversies.  Magazine and journal articles, book chapters, statistical tables.  Thousands of pro/con essays.

 

       Gale Virtual Reference Library
Electronic versions of many of our most important encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.  Excellent background coverage for almost any field or topic.

  

       Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials across all disciplines.  Includes peer-reviewed journal articles and books from academic publishers.  Ask the library staff for help in obtaining desired items.

 

General Databases

The content in these databases goes across all fields & disciplines 

Database Categories

  • Popular & General Interest
  • Academic & Scholarly
  • Biography
  • Book Reviews
  • Reference Collections
  • Encyclopedias 

Scroll down
↓     ↓

 

Database Categories

Popular & General Interest

  • General OneFile
    In addition to thousands of magazines & newspapers, provides access to hundreds of travel guides, NPR radio programs, links to 5,000 video files (e.g. NBC Nightly News and the Today Show), etc. Our most comprehensive general-interest database.

  • MasterFILE Premier
    Broad coverage of general-interest periodicals, but also includes hundreds of reference books and a huge Image Collection of photos, maps, and flags.

  • Reader's Guide Full Text Mega
    Here is the old familiar Reader's Guide--excellent coverage of popular topics like entertainment, hobbies, antiques, gardening, photography, health, music, sports, etc.

Academic & Scholarly
(Peer-Reviewed journals and more)

  • Academic Search Complete
    Our most comprehensive article database, providing coverage of more than 7,000 peer-reviewed journals.

  • Academic OneFile
    Includes both peer-reviewed journals and popular magazines, as well as major reference sets and thousands of podcasts from CNN and NPR.

  • ProQuest
    Coverage across all fields, but especially strong in health, technology, and criminal justice.

  • Global Issues in Context
    While covering all fields and disciplines, GIC places issues in a global and multicultural context.  Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference sources, country information, statistics, etc. in a single search.

  • JSTOR
    Premier scholarly journals from more than 50 disciplines, with extensive coverage of backfiles.

Biography

  • Biography in Context
    Our most comprehensive biographical resource, with more than 600,000 entries from all time periods and countries.

  • Biography Reference Bank
    Another huge biographical database. Includes more than 500,000 people and 36,000 images.

  • Current Biography Illustrated
    Not as many people included here, but the the entries tend to be longer and more in-depth.

Book Reviews

Reference Collections

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Our most comprehensive collection of authoritative eReference sources, containing more than 150,000 documents! A great starting point for virtually any topic or subject.

  • Oxford Reference Online
    Here is a great collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, subject companions, and reference works that Oxford is famous for.

  • Credo Reference
    This collection of more than 600 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books provides coverage across all fields.

Encyclopedias