Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a lot of useful information on the web, but make sure to check to make sure the source is trustworthy. It is often worthwhile to check the information from one source against another to make sure there is consistent information about a topic, lending to the credibility of the information.
Government science sites
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
The PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
National Science Foundation: Biology
Contains information on how the NSF supports biology research. Also includes links to biology news articles.
Other web sites
Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History
Includes research resources in many areas of natural history, including botany and zoology. Also has virtual visits to the exhibits.
From the American Institute of Biological Science, BioScience is a montly, peer reviewed journal that covers biology and the history of biology.
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
New York State Museum: Biology
The focus of this research group is on the study of living plants, animals, and microorganisms. Its work includes biological surveys of defined geographic areas and ecosystems, phylogenetic (evolutionary) and nomenclatural studies of taxonomic groups, and studies of relationships between organisms and with their environments. In addition, applications are sought to apply research results to solving current environmental problems.