Nursing: Books, Videos & Reference
Using books and reference
Books and reference material are useful for getting an overview of a given topic.
For reference materials this overview is usually a short, fact oriented description of the topic, occasionally with references. They are considered one of the most authoritative sources.
Books, similarly, usually approach a topic from multiple perspectives. These are some of the longest forms of research, and you may find that you only need a specific chapter or section of a book, rather than the whole thing.
Keep in mind, a book can go the complete other direction in terms of specificity. Rather than an bird's eye view of a topic, it could delve very deep on just one aspect of a topic, exploring it fully and providing a deep understanding. Again, it may be valuable to focus on sections of books rather than complete works while doing research.
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowBroad subject general reference database searching hundreds of encyclopedias and other reference works. Provides subject/topic maps.
- Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Intended for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Reliable resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Contains full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health and Wellness: Gale This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, etc. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
- TDS Health This link opens in a new windowIncludes ANATOMY.TV (Primal Pictures), STAT!Ref, EBMcalc, and Steadman's Medical Dictionary. Also has links to mobile apps, Evidence Alerts, and Reuter's medical news feed.
Streaming videos
- Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection (Films On Demand) This link opens in a new windowA specially curated collection to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming movie service that offers access to a catalog of 10,000 curated educational, entertaining, and enriching films that fuel lifelong learning. It includes content from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, PBS, BBC, and many more. Kanopy films may be streamed anytime and anywhere.
The TCTC catalog
To search the TCTC book catalog, head to library.tctc.edu/primo, type your search term in the search box, and select "TCTC library catalog only" from the drop down that appears.
E-Books
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowThousands of ebooks from a wide range of subject areas. Go to your Bookshelf account to save links to books, highlights, bookmarks, notes, and more.
- Ebooks from EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThousands of high-quality ebook titles from major academic publishers and university presses from around the world. Collection encompasses broad range of subjects.
- Ebooks from Gale This link opens in a new window
A broad ranging general reference collection of ebooks. Search thousands of authoritative reference sources across all fields and disciplines.
- Ebooks from Infobase This link opens in a new windowThis collection features thousands of reference works from imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history, science, literature, etc.
- Ebooks from Ovid This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes ebooks in health and medicine. The books cover clinical medicine, emergency medicine, primary care, nursing education, nutrition, mental health nursing, management, administration, etc.
- Ebook Collection from Salem Press This link opens in a new windowIncludes easy-to-understand information about literature, history, science, and health.
Anatomy resources
Use Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
- Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window***Best viewed on a non-mobile device such as a desktop or laptop computer.***
A multimedia learning resource, featuring 20 interactive modules utilizing effective techniques to help students master anatomy and physiology. With content equivalent to the major anatomy and physiology text books, Primal’s 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology brings learning to life with interactive 3D models, narrated animations, and a comprehensive atlas of micro-anatomy, histology and dissection images, as well as a wealth of ancillary content that covers aging, case studies, common clinical conditions and quizzes.