Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the databases below there are a number of strategies that will help you find relevant information on your research topic:
- use keywords rather than full sentences or phrases – i.e., "naproxen and inflammation" rather than "does taking naproxen help with inflammation
- try different combinations of keywords to see what different results appear
- use the provided subject headings to repeat your search to find more resources on the same topic
- remember to limit your search to the last 5 years for nursing information
Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full text is provided for many of the most-used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete also provides indexing for more than 4,000 journals, and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer-oriented health content that provides coverage of all areas of health and wellness. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets with brand names. Subject examples include nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, etc..
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information on many topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general. Source materials include health science magazines, pamphlets, and reference books.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals.
Database providing full text access for hundreds of top biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with current issues available, so doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers can access information as soon as it is published.
This is a collection of journals with scholarly articles directly related to the nursing field.
A full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Includes ANATOMY.TV (Primal Pictures), STAT!Ref, EBMcalc, and Steadman's Medical Dictionary. Also has links to mobile apps, Evidence Alerts, and Reuter's medical news feed.
From Ovid, a monthly roundup of important or interesting articles from the nursing field.
Nurses Choice Archive
Back issues of Nurses Choice, archived by Ovid
Journals of note
Stay up to date on research and discussions in the nursing world by reading through these journals:
American Journal of Nursing
AJN is a broad-based, peer-reviewed, evidence-based journal covering all aspects of nursing care
Journal of Nursing Care Quality
(From the publication) Journal of Nursing Care Quality (JNCQ) is a peer-reviewed journal that provides practicing nurses as well as nurses who have leadership roles in nursing care quality programs with useful information regarding the application of quality principles and concepts in the practice setting
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
(From the publisher) The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing is a peer-reviewed publication that provides a forum for discussion of the issues inherent in current topics of interest to nurses and other health care professionals.
(From the publisher) The [American Nurse] journal reaffirms ANA’s initiatives and directly supports nurses in advancing the profession through practical, independent, evidence-based, and peer-reviewed clinical data and information.
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy
(From the publisher) Smart, funny, but always clinically relevant, Nursing made Incredibly Easy! demonstrates that nurses can laugh while they learn. This first-of-a-kind, new journal already has wide readership and extremely high acceptance among practicing nurses and student nurses. With the help of a cast of characters-led by Nurse Joy-the journal navigates the most difficult and complex clinical concepts, breaking them into simpler, clearly explained components that don't leave the nurse wondering, "What did that mean?"