Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Careers and Occupations
Examines various trends in careers and occupations in America. Provides the latest information on what Americans do for a living, how much they earn, how they find work, and what factors influence these key issues.
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Labor. Great resource for career exploration, training, and jobs.
Gateway to Careers
Filled with career exploration resources with funding provided by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, this free site includes tools, leads, and helpful tips for landing a job. Zip code and current email address required.
Career Outlook Magazine
For students, career counselors, jobseekers, researchers, and others, this magazine provides helpful information about choosing an occupation, changing careers, understanding education and training options, and more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.
Ebooks from Infobase This link opens in a new window
This collection features thousands of reference works from imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history, science, literature, etc.
Careers in Focus: Career and Education eBook Collection
Surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests, drawing from government and industry sources, professional groups, news reports, career and job-search resources, and a variety of other sources.
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors.
Employment statistics, job forecasts, wages, demographics, and other labor market information help pulbic and private organizations, researchers, and others better understand today's complex workforce. The Business Intelligence Dpartment (BID) collects, analyzes, and disseminates this data in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).
Find out what jobs pay in your area using these free resources.