Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper Research Databases
This page contains databases to search archives for several topics and issues.
Newspaper, Current Event, and Controversial Issues Databases
Newsstand This link opens in a new window
This newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Global Issues: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, etc. This database integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, etc, Offers over 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, etc.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news. Topics include finance, politics and government, state reports, security, emerging threats, sports, and more.
This collection is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, etc. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science,etc.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides content to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. This database assembles controversial information in a non-biased manner for evaluation by the patron.
U.S. Trade Magazines/Journals (Full-text)
A comprehensive of full-text U.S.-based trade magazine/journal publications offered through the GALE Academic OneFile database. The magazines cover a wide range of topics such as: business, local news, international news, politics, science, technology, etc.