Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science and Technology eBooks
Science and Technology in Modern European Life by
Examines how science and technology impacted the everyday life of modern Europeans in all aspects from of their lives. Science and Technology in Modern European Life shows how science and technology influenced every aspect of daily life, including the following topics: transportation, communication, war and imperialism, and the home.
Media & Communications
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Hargrave's Communications Dictionary, Wiley
A treasure of simplified communications terms, definitions, acronyms, charts, equations, and a wealth of related information - from ATM to Zone Paging, this volume includes over 10,000 definitions of key phrases.
Computers & Electronics
3D A-to-Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary
This encyclopedic dictionary offers information on the art and science of stereoscopic 3D, including still and moving images; film and digital image acquisition; production, post-production, distribution, and exhibition; and human visual perception.
100 Ideas that Changed the Web
This innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today.
Barron's Business Dictionaries: Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms by
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
his updated edition includes the most recent terms relating to constantly expanding computer and internet technology. More than 3,200 terms and definitions deal with -- practical guidance for business software users; computer security, law, and ethics; computer programming, with examples in several computer languages; internet culture and latest developments.
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT
Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by
This book traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. This third edition provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing. It expands its focus on the IT industry with fresh discussion on the rise of Google and Facebook as well as how powerful applications are changing the way we work, consume, learn, and socialize.
Dictionary of Computing by
The Dictionary of Computing provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet.
Science & Medicine
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
Publication Date: 2005
New fields of ethical reflection -- computer ethics, environmental ethics, communication ethics, genethics - are emerging to deal with the world that science and technology have created. professional ethics of doing science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in educational. Additionally, it provides a practical introduction to useful knowledge and ideas for both professionals and general readers. The encyclopedia embodies a historically and culturally inclusive approach, with entries on specific religions, linguistic and cultural perspectives, and philosophical positions.
National Geographic Science of Everything by
National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.
The Big Idea: How Breakthroughs of the Past Shape the Future by
Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.
The Penguin Dictionary of Science by
Covers both fundamental and esoteric concepts within every field of scientific inquiry, from chemistry and astronomy to molecular biology and human anatomy. Definitions are succinct and backed by hundreds of illustrations and diagrams.
Science and Its Times
This innovative 7-vol. set offers an exceptional, interdisciplinary approach to learning by integrating two important subjects: science and history. The volumes are chronologically ordered from 2000 B.C. to the present, addressing a wide variety of scientific developments with explanations of underlying factors and their effects on politics, economics, culture and daily life. The entries -- more than 20 topical essays, 25 full biographies and 85 sketches of notable people in each volume -- move forward through history, describing notable scientific discoveries and achievements along with their social and historical impact.
Data, Information, and Knowledge Management
An Introduction to Information Design by
This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.
Defining Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2013-12-23
This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Chapters provide a historical overview of how the term 'Humanities Computing' developed into the term 'Digital Humanities', and highlight core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.
Palgrave Key Concepts: Key Concepts in Innovation by
A comprehensive glossary providing clear explanations of the major terms in the field of innovation, covering areas such as product development, design and creativity. By simplifying complex terminology and highlighting key debates, this book is an ideal companion for both students and practitioners in the field.