Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
From the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University. A digital collection of over 600 images from 1850 through 1920 illustrating print advertisements for a variety of health-related products including pain relievers, vitamin supplements and tonics, laxitives, nutritional and dietary aids, and skin ointments and creams. For more information on the Medicine and Madison Avenue digital project consult the collection's Research Guide. The guide contains tools to assist instructors' use of the collection in the class room including student exercises, case studies, a historical timeline and an extended bibliography.
The Birth of the Recording Industry
Transportation: Ford Motor Company Advertisements
J. Walter Thompson Co. Ford Motor Company Advertisements
From the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University. This collection represents advertisements in multiple formats created by JWT for Ford Motor Company's lines of cars, trucks, and SUVs; Ford Farming tractors; Genuine Ford replacement parts; and dealerships and automotive services from 1945 through 2001. Noteworthy automobile launches include the redesigned 1941 Ford, Thunderbird, Mustang, Taurus, Explorer, Ranger, and Escort. The collection also includes many well-known campaigns such as "There's a Ford in Your Future," the Peanuts campaign for Falcon, "Built for Tough," and "Have you Driven a Ford Lately?."
Ford Motor Company: Topic Page
The company, based in Detroit, Michigan, is the world's third largest motor manufacturer after General Motors and Toyota.
Radio and Television
Tony Schwartz Collection
Considered a master of the electronic media, Tony Schwartz changed the face of radio and television advertising by creating socially conscientious campaigns such as the nation’s first anti-smoking ad. Throughout his career Schwartz was a pioneer in the field of soundscape recording, capturing the people, sounds and events of his native New York City. Click "selected recordings" to listen to some of Schwartz's historic radio broadcasts.