Primary Sources: Books

Offers an innovative approach to more than 130 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century."

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader.

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

The 9/11 Encyclopedia offers valuable perspective on this emotionally charged and multidimensional subject. This comprehensive encyclopedia details the events leading up to the attacks, going back a decade prior to 9/11, and covers all the major players involved.

Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.

Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.

Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States.

A comprehensive history of conspiracies and conspiracy theories in the United States.

This thought-provoking and interesting text provides a complete examination of each of the United States' 27 Constitutional Amendments. From the prohibition of alcoholic beverages, to slavery, to the voting rights of women, this text illustrates how the US Constitution has changed since its ratification in 1789.

Now in its second edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history.

Serving as the ideal place for students and interested readers to begin their research, this A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the post-industrial age.

This beautifully written narrative history paints a magnificent picture of the second largest nation on earth.

An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects—social, political, and economic—of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction.

This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists.

This illustrated encyclopedia traces the fascinating stories of spies, intelligence, and counterintelligence throughout history, both internationally and in the United States.

This title examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.

A comprehensive and timely examination of the history and current status of immigrants and refugees—their stories, the events that led to their movement, and the place of these movements in contemporary history and politics.

A compilation of multiple PBS NewsHour videos covering the U.S. Government.

A compilation of multiple PBS NewsHour videos covering U.S. Presidents.

A compilation of multiple PBS NewsHour videos covering World Leaders.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption.

This exhaustive reference traces the rise of each ruling family, outlines key constitutional developments, provides details on current rulers and their approaches to succession, and discusses potential contenders to power.

Contains detailed profiles, historical essays, primary documents, timeline, and bibliography.

A complete French photo archive of art.

A collection of auction House, fine art, furniture, antiques, and decorative arts images.

A collection of popular Italian, Mexican, French fine arts masters.

A complete, comprehensive European collection of art.

A full collection of art produced by the European masters.

A stunning collection of images from Auction Houses, as well as, fine art, furniture, antiques, and decorative arts.

A diverse image collection of Auction house-antiques, fine art, and decorative arts.

A collection of fine art images from Florence and Italy.

A collection of museum fine art from Florence masters and Italian artists.

A comprehensive library of European Fine Art.

A collection of art images from Russia and from the Hermitage Museum.

A collection of fine art from artists and masters in Italian collections.

A collection of black and white historical engravings, literary persons, and historical images.

Americana and all sorts of historical ephemera, book illustrations, lithos and images of the arts.

A beautiful collection of French masterpieces and fine art.

A collection of images covering Spanish arts, and arts relating to Spain and South America.

Includes images of rare books, lithographs, and literature.

A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.

A collection of images of William Morris Designs.

High definition images with metadata from the National Gallery, London

Founded in 1856, the aim of the National Portrait Gallery, London is "to promote through the medium of portraits the appreciation and understanding of the men and women who have made and are making British history and culture, and ... to promote the appreciation and understanding of portraiture in all media". The Gallery holds the most extensive collection of portraits in the world.

In this comprehensive reference, Historian J.M. Bumsted takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

Brings together a diverse selection of eloquent, powerful, witty and passionate speeches, given by politicians, monarchs, rebels and intellectuals from around the world.

The Lesbian and Gay Movements explores this dilemma in both contemporary and historical contexts, describing the sources of these conflicts, to what extent the conflicts have been resolved, and how they might be resolved in future.

Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.

Supreme Decisions: Great Constitutional Cases and Their Impact covers twenty-three Supreme Court cases that have shaped American constitutional law. Interpretive chapters shed light on the nuances of each case, the individuals involved, and the social, political, and cultural context at that particular moment in history.

A comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded sencond edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.

The King James or 'Authorized' Version was commissioned in 1603 when James became King of England. It was first published in 1611 and attained a unique authority, gradually superseding all previous versions. The first Cambridge printing was in 1629, establishing a tradition of care for the accuracy of the text that has been maintained to this day. The "KJV" is a classic of the English language and is still a very widely accepted translation.

The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632.

This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

A historical review of the most important scientific controversies that have shaped our knowledge of dinosaurs since the discovery of important fossils in the 1820s.