Graphic Novels and Comic Books: Internet Resources
A guide to finding graphic literature at TCTC, using graphic literature as sources for academic papers, and learning more about how to draw graphic literature.
Learning More about Graphic Literature
- ComicsResearch.orgThis is a bibliography of scholarly work about comics.
- Comics and Graphic Narratives: The MLA Discussion GroupThis online discussion group is led by scholars from the Modern Language Association.
- Black Superhero
Comprehensive information on black superheroes [warning -- some info. is no longer current]
Comics and Censorship
- A History of Comics Censorship
Learn more about the history of censorship in comic art with this great resource from the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund.
Blogs about Comic Art and Culture
- Comics Alliance
Produced by the ScreenCrush Network, this blog includes TV, games, and cosplay as well as all things comic book-related. - No Flying, No Tights
Aimed at young adults, this blog offers reviews of new works in graphic literature. - The Beat: The News Blog of Comic Culture
An interesting daily blog of the comics industry, including news, reviews, and publishing information.
Digital and Print Collections of Graphic Literature
- The Digital Comic Museum
Free public domain Golden Age comics! - Library of CongressThe Serial and Government Publications collection at the Library of Congress holds over 100,000 issues of 5,000 comic titles, including Wonder Woman, Superman, and many important modern works..
- The Hall of Heroes
This museum, located in Elkhart Indiana, is devoted to the history of superheroes in comics, toys, film, and animation. - Museum of Comic and Cartoon ArtThe MoCCA Gallery at the Society of Illustrators' Museum of Illustration in NYC is devoted to the promotion of the comic arts.
- Schulz Museum
The Charles M. Schultz Museum and Research Center in Santa Rosa, CA honors the lifetime achievements of the creator of Peanuts.
Learning to Draw Graphic Literature
- Electricomix
Developed by the legendary graphic novelist Alan Moore, Electricomics allows you to read high quality experimental digital comics on an iPad App and also make your own digital comics using the Electricomics Generator. - Cartooning QuickguidesThis is a nifty collection of drawing tips drawn from the book Mastering Comics by Jessica Abel and Matt Madden.
Resources for Finding Comic Books
- Cover BrowserView 450,000+ covers of comics, books & more!
- Moore Collection of Underground Comix
This is a database of works from the underground comic movement.