It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Multicultural Research Project: Author information
This guide provides a collection of possible resources to help you conduct your research on a book from a non-American author
When you research the author of your book, you may first want to take note of what information you are required to have, and what information you may like to have in addition to that. Starting with these questions in mind before getting into the resources will help you identify which sources and which pieces of information are more valuable.
Remember, as you gather information from the sources below, to gather and keep citation information for anything you plan you use.
These sources focus on the history of the person. While they will undoubtedly make mention of the literary works they published, the information from these sources will will be on their personal experience.
Search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. Limit by source type, and searchable indexes can be used to browse by biography name, document type, geographic terms and more. Original content supplemented with new biographies and updated versions of preexisting articles.
Includes authoritative reference information alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news-makers. Search or browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
Provides in-depth introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world in the context of the time period in which they lived, as well as on the history and influence of literary movements. Contains in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres.
The acclaimed Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors -- each of which were carefully coordinated with input from librarians and educators to include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges. Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series is an ideal starting point for research papers on literary works and figures, special projects and presentations. Students can quickly gain results by searching for a specific author, combining search criteria for a more complex search, or exploring thematic and chronological topics.
This group of sources includes both biographical information and short descriptions of the literary works of prominent authors.
Biographical and critical surveys of twentieth-century and current authors, both literary and general nonfiction. Provides access to current biographical and bibliographical data on thousands of modern authors. You can easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more.