Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have a variety of databases that allow you to search for journal articles across many scholarly publications at once.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A resource for the study of literature. Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom. Includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions, author biographies, character analyses, full-length poems, and the full text of hundreds of reference books. Also contains full-length videos of classic plays and films, and more.
Literature: Gale This link opens in a new window
Offers broad and representative range of authors and their works, including full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies. Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Literature Criticism: Gale This link opens in a new window
Database of literary criticism covering the works of authors now living or who died after 1900. Covers a broad range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Ebooks from Infobase This link opens in a new window
This collection features thousands of reference works from imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history, science, literature, etc.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text literary database covering all genres and time-frames. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems. Also includes the Masterplots series and "Critical Insights" volumes.
Ebook Collection from Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Includes easy-to-understand information about literature, history, science, and health.
Some specific titles to get you started
If you're struggling to find a way in to the analysis, here are some books that provide clear examples of analysis
Introduction to Literary Context: World Literature
Designed to introduce great works of literature placing them in historical, societal, scientific and religious contexts.
Novels for Students
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
Drama for Students
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
Short Stories for Students
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Twenty-First Century Novels
Brings the most important fictional works of the last 10 years into view, discussing plot, characters, critical reception and more. Features broad coverage of multiethnic/multicultural communities and curricula, bringing an insight to readers of contemporary global literature in English translation.