Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law and Legal Reference Books
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.
Dictionary of Legal Terms: Definitions and Explanations for Non-Lawyers by
Non-lawyers will appreciate the way this book cuts through the complexities of legal jargon and presents definitions and explanations that are easily understood and referenced. The terms are arranged alphabetically and given with definitions and explanations for consumers, business proprietors, legal beneficiaries, investors, property owners, litigants, and all others who have dealings with the law. Find definitions on everything from Abandonment and Abatable Nuisance, all the way through to Zoning.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by
Covers leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by
This 12-volume set provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics in American law, covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
Books on Criminal Justice
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by
This set provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing.
Forensic Science by
Includes 465 cross-referenced articles covering professional organizations, investigative techniques and procedures, subspecialties of the field, the role of forensic science in our legal system, and specific cases (the Unabomber, the Lindbergh baby kidnapping, etc.). Also addresses depictions of forensic science in the media, including TV shows such as CSI.
Key Concepts in Crime and Society by
This source contains overviews of the key concepts related to criminality, definitions and descriptions of the types of crime, and a look at the responses to crime.
General Reference Books
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
Defining terms, including haggling and mediator, this comprehensive resource will standardize the language of conflict resolution - improving dialogue and understanding among professionals and theorists and promoting uniformity and consistency in the language. It offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.
Dictionary of Policing by
Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management by
Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.
Dictionary of Youth Justice by
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.
Gun Control by
A compilation of current and historical statistics with analysis on gun control, including a comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic. Data are compiled from reports generated by branches of the U.S. government, information collected by major independent polling organizations and authoritative associations, and from professional journals, newspapers, pamphlets, and other reliable sources related to the subject.
Essential Criminology by
Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts, Essential Criminology is, as its title implies, a concise overview of the field. The book guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured.
Spanish Law Dictionary by
This is a bilingual dictionary of legal terms that features over 50,000 entries. It provides coverage of all aspects of law, with each entry including a translation and example sentences to show how the term is used in context.
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities by
Provides a critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework. Issues of race, gender, and class are fully integrated throughout in order to demonstrate the complexity of the implementation and intended results of incarceration. The encyclopedia also contain biographies, articles describing important legal statutes, as well as detailed and authoritative descriptions of the major prisons in the United States. Comparative data and examples are employed to analyze the America system within an international context.
National Security by
A compilation of current and historical statistics with analysis on U. S. national security, including a comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic. Data are compiled from reports generated by branches of the U.S. government, information collected by major independent polling organizations and authoritative associations, and from professional journals, newspapers, pamphlets, and other reliable sources.
Worldmark Conflict and Diplomacy by
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Explores specific modern-day conflicts that have had a truly global impact, as well as the efforts and organizations focused on solving these conflicts.