Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this official TCTC Style Guide. It is what instructors go by.
Criminal Justice Statistics
An online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
Bureau of Justice Statistics, International Justice Statistics
International criminal justice statistics from the BJS publications and the United Nations.
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining national and local trends in crime. Includes: Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics with data from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies.
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
The Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database containing information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
International Centre for Prison Studies, World Prison Population Lists
Prison population demographics and incarceration rates for over 200 countries.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Hosted by the University of Michigan, this resource allows easy access to important criminal justice statistical data, including uniform crime reporting and correctional institution populations.
Nation Master, Crime
Statistical profiles and international rankings of various criminal topics such as police officers, kidnappings, murder rates, etc.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Polling statistics on matters of national and global importance
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S.; tables on various kinds of crimes, arrests, victims, sentencing, parole, prisons, and the death penalty.
U.S. Bureau of Criminal Justice Statistics
Comprehensive statistical data in all categories: crimes & victims, offenders, courts & sentencing, and corrections.
U.S. Census Bureau
An incredibly rich source of data for life in the United States.
United Nations: Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice
Data on reported crimes and the operations of criminal justice systems globally.
United Nations: Drug Control, Crime Prevention and Counter-Terrorism
UN statistics focuses on drugs, human trafficking, corruption, terrorism and organized crime. Links to some full text documents and the annual World Drug Report.
Information sources for careers in legal services and law enforcement
Criminal Justice Governmental Agencies
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosive
ATF is a federal law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice whose stated mission is to "protect communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products. diversion; firearms; explosives; and arson."
Bureau of Justice Assistance
BJA is committed to initiatives in many areas of criminal justice such as law enforcement, counter-terrorism, substance abuse, crime prevention.
Department of Justice
A list of all agencies of the Department of Justice whose stated mission is “to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.”
Criminal Procedure Resource Guide (National Center for State Courts)
Contains guides to, and analyses of, criminal justice procedures, including the handling and storage of physical evidence, corrections and probation, and sentencing.
Sentences (Criminal procedure): Topic Page
In criminal law, punishment that a court orders, imposed on a person convicted of criminal activity. Sentences typically consist of fines, corporal punishment, imprisonment for varying periods including life, or capital punishment, and sometimes combine two or more elements.
Research Process Overview
Looking for help using TCTC Library Resources?
Have a specific question?
Ask a librarian
Need help? Ask a librarian! We're available via online chat, email, and phone. Or check out our FAQs to see if someone has already asked your question.
This guide was developed with the Johnson & Wales University Denver Library and is used with permission.
Legal Non-Governmental Agencies
American Civil Liberties Union: Criminal Justice
American Civil Liberties Union: Criminal Justice
The ACLU maintains content concerning criminal justice, racial justice, drug laws, prisoners' rights, and capital punishment.
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
A useful resource for the topics of criminal justice and juvenile offenders within the criminal justice system, with an emphasis on sentencing.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
The official website of the Federal Bureau of Prisons.
National Institute of Justice
The National Institute of Justice is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.
International Association of Chiefs of Police
Includes information about the organization as well as full text of their extensive collection of publications.
PARC - Police Assessment Resource Center
PARC provides resources, advice, and assistance to all those who have responsibilities to their communities or constituents to deal with the consequences of police misconduct.
The Rand Corporation does research on issues relating to the national security and public welfare of the United States and their reports in the criminal justice area are frequently cited. Click on publications to search abstracts of their reports or to read the full text of some major studies.
Vera Institute of Justice
The Vera Institute of Justice, based in New York City, conducts research on public policies in criminal justice. Many of their publications are available online in PDF format here.