Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Government Reference Books
Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government by
Includes information detailing the inner workings of the federal government. In addition to historical overviews and examinations of the day-to-day operations of each branch, topics covered include Constitutional duties and obligations of each branch, specifics related to eligibility, elections and appointments of key positions, changes since 1776, and the future of each branch.
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States by
This set focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Almost 1,100 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, cases, topics, personalities, institutions, events, and processes.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
Provides an alphabetized and cross-referenced chronology of the history and content of the American Constitution from its creation and ratification, through case-by-case coverage of 200 years of interpretations.
Major Acts of Congress by
In nearly 275 entries, this 3-vol. set examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. A great addition to collections in needof resources on government, civics, citizenship, history and the law.
Legal resources - US Federal
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for publications of the federal government.
Citing Legal Materials in APA Style
How should legal materials be cited in APA style? The Purdue OWL hosts a useful and authoritative guide.
Browse case summaries since 2000 under broad categories like civil rights, consumer protection, and education.
Search for cases and statutes, as well as searching by area of legal interest (family law, criminal law, and employment law).
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University)
An excellent resource for accessing cases and statutes at a federal and state level, in addition to researching legal subjects by topic area.
This search engine searches across multiple US federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and citations whilst providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Public Library of Law
Search for cases, legislation, codes, regulations, and rules of court.
Research all aspects of congressional activity; search bills, resolutions, nominations, roll call votes, and committee reports.
United States Courts
Provides an excellent overview of the Courts system and structure within the United States.
United States Supreme Court
The Court's official site: search the docket, oral arguments, rules, and opinions.