Philosophy: Books

A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.

Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.

A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.

Brings together short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one

Introduces undergraduate and post-graduate students to the main problems and positions of philosophical logic. Elements include crucial figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic as well as issues that pertain to related, overlapping disciplines, such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for identification within the context of wider debates.

Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.

This dictionary provides, through alphabetically arranged entries, brief overviews of the tenets, philosophers, and writers of existentialism.

This title contains entries on individuals who made some contribution to philosophy in the twentieth century, including both prolific writers or in some cases writers of no more than a book.

The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles present not only succinct historical accounts of their subject matter, but they introduce readers to issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the philosophy of the Classical period. Scholars, students, and interested lay persons will find this volume useful in gaining a comprehensive view of the field.

An essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating empiricism as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.

Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers.

This encyclopedia presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries.

Everything you always wanted to know about Ancient Greek philosophy but didn't know who to ask.

The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of the American Enlightenment is the first reference work on this key subject in early American history. With over 500 original essays on key American Enlightenment figures, it provides a comprehensive account to complement the intense scholarly activity that has recently centered on the European Enlightenment.

An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.