Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Resources for Small Businesses
SBA.gov - U.S. Small Business Administration
Independent federal agency to aid and assist small business concerns.
Guide to Choosing a Small Business Structure
The U.S. Small Business Administration provides this clear and concise guide covering the most popular business structures. Outlines the advantages and disadvantages of each type of business structure as well as tax requirements.
IRS: Choosing a Business Structure
A handy information sheet put together by the Internal Revenue Service detailing the tax implications of different business structures.
Free Small Business Advice
MANTA lists over 63 million companies worldwide, searchable by industry and location. Results may be filtered by employees size and company revenue. You may add your business. (Once you register, you may choose not to have your information displayed when you visit a company site.)
Financing Your Business
Provided by Small Business Resource Center, an overview liabilities + equity = assets, where both sides of the equation are balanced.
Budgeting your small business
Topic overview, provided by Small Business Resource Center, offering a wealth of information and tools to help companies track finances and avoid accumulating debt.
A government provided information site for entrepreneurs and business owners.
State of South Carolina Business Resources
Resources for starting and running a business in South Carolina.
Need a Business Plan?
Bplans - samples
Bplans contains the largest single online collection of free sample business plans. In addition, it has helpful tools and know-how for managing your business. Bplans includes practical advice on planning, interactive tools and calculators, and a panel of experts who have answered thousands of questions from people like you. Bplans has won several awards as a valuable "plain talk" resource.
Write a Business Plan
The United States Small Business Administration provides solid information on writing and using a business plan.
Templates for your Business Plan
Browse the template gallery, which contains real business plans and financial & accounting statements created by SCORE.
Small Business Reference Center
Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
Entrepreneurship: Gale Business
Comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, etc. This database combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage.
Small Business Start Up Guide for South Carolina
Guidelines for starting a small business in South Carolina. Includes: the South Carolina office of the U.S. Small Business Administration department, internet resources for small businesses, licenses and permits, tax incentives and exemptions, and the South Carolina State Office of Small and Minority Business Assistance.
U.S. Census Bureau
An incredibly rich source of data for life in the United States.
American Fact Finder: Census data by topic
Enter your county in the text box. Topics include population, age, business/industry, education, housing, income, race, etc.
NES is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax. This series includes the number of businesses and total receipts by industry. Select state and then county.
Wage Determinations OnLine (WDOL)
This Federal Acquisitions Regulation (FAR) mandated Web site contains both current and archived (from 2000 on) wage determinations. Users can search for a determination or browse by state and county.
Bureau of Labor Statistics - South Carolina Office
See South Carolina News Releases & Tables for:
Inflation & Consumer Spending
Employment & Unemployment
Pay & Benefits
Economic Indicators from the U.S. Census Bureau
Monthly economic indicators that track the economy
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade
Comprehensive site - current & historical data
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The most recent data tables are for 2009, and were made available on October 5, 2010.
Consumer Price Indexes
Provides access to the latest CPI figures, as well as historical data.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Information concerning NAICS - the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
Four digit numerical code assigned by the U.S. government to identify the primary business category. The SIC code has been replaced by the NAICS code but data sets still contain SIC codes so SIC codes are still used.