Veterinary Technology: Articles
Getting Started with Databases
Start your search in Primo (library.tctc.edu/primo) and then branch out to databases.
| Use keywords rather than full sentences or phrases | Example: Search "urinary tract infections AND cats" rather than "what are the symptoms of urinary tract infections in cats" |
| Try different combinations of keywords to see what different results appear | Example: Search "urinary tract infections OR UTI" AND "cat OR feline" |
| Use filters or limiters to narrow down your returns | Example: Limit by publication date and resource type |
| Use the provided subject headings to repeat your search to find more resources on the same topic | Example: Scan the article for subject headings and search with those keywords in your next search. |
You can find a comprehensive list of our databases on the Database A-Z List.
Database List
Open Access (Free and Publicly Accessible)
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 200 leading titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowCommunity-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Subjects include most disciplines.
- Merck Veterinary Manual This link opens in a new windowConcise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals. Covers the basics, and areas not commonly encountered in the daily routine of most animal health professionals. For veterinarians in today's environment in which general practitioners and specialists alike must practice awareness and vigilance in recognizing the impact of the international movement of animals, maintaining a safe food supply, and minimizing the spread of infectious animal disease and the threat of zoonoses
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Learning Commons Databases (requires TCTC login)
Vet Tech Specific
- Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new windowProvides hundreds of full-text journals and books. This database covers subjects such as biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice and veterinary assisting.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full text is provided for many of the most-used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete also provides indexing for more than 4,000 journals, and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals.
Database providing full text access for hundreds of top biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with current issues available, so doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers can access information as soon as it is published. - Plumb's Pro This link opens in a new windowA full suite of clinical decision support, pet owner education, and drug information and tools. Includes Plumb's Veterinary Drugs, a digital drug reference with pet owner medication guides and a drug interaction checker.
Learning Commons Databases (requires TCTC login)
General
- Academic OneFile: Gale This link opens in a new windowA broad subject database which includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reference sets and podcasts covering the areas of criminal justice, history, economics, marketing, and psychology. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Topical Video Content
Academic Search Complete offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 75,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database of resources. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, market reports, etc.
What are peer-reviewed articles?
Peer review (also known as "Refereed") happens in all parts of academia.
Peer review has developed over many years as the primary system to make sure accurate, reliable and original research findings are published in the journal literature.
Peer Review in Three Minutes by NC State University Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Journals
You can also browse a specific journal. This can be a great way to gain general information or search for a research topic. Choose from our list or peruse the eJournal Finder.