Sociology: Books

A clear, balanced guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology

An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.

This edition has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years. It is designed to support students and teachers of sociology and other related courses and the general reader.

Covers core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion.

This comprehensive overview of the first quarter-century of American environmental sociology introduces readers to the research and theoretical perspectives in this "new" field of study.

The first comprehensive dictionary of the field of sociolinguistics, this is a valuable reference book for students and teachers of sociolinguistics, others concerned with the socially-oriented study of language and those with a professional interest in language.

A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Explores the lives of women in American society. Includes information on women's demographic trends, educational achievements, employment, financial status, parental responsibilities, political roles, victimization, and health issues.

Provides both sides of the divisive argument surrounding abortion. Also includes information on the number and types of abortions performed in the United States, abortion clinics, teen pregnancy and abortion, views of abortion from around the world, religious thoughts on abortion, and legal rulings pertaining to abortion.

Covers the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies.

Explores the core concepts in feminist theory.

Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.

The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family revises and expands Macmillan's 1995 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, adopting an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

Examines how science and culture intertwine to influence how we think about our identities, desires, relationships, and societal roles today.

This work includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory. In addition, nine major entries cover each of the major disciplines (political economy; management and business; human geography; politics; sociology; law; psychology; organizational behavior) and the history and development of the social sciences in a broader sense.

Focuses on international and global concerns in economic sociology, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world.

Key Concepts in Family Studies provides individual entries that introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family.

This title poses sociological questions about the formation of intellectual fields and their social relations, and offers an in-depth, historical study of one of the largest specialities of the discipline of sociology - the sociology of health and medicine - across three countries: the United States of America, Britain and Australia.

Covers the movements that have helped shape American society, culture and politics.

Includes original documents pertaining to globalization such as excerpts from free trade agreements, international environmental agreements, arms treaties, and the United Nations charter.

This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration.

This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding crime, prisons, and jails.

This volume deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.

Explores various aspects of transnational crimes with a focus on transnational justice, charting the criminal activity and crimes through to prosecution in domestic and international courts.

This practical, down-to-earth dictionary helps students new to the social sciences gain a thorough understanding of the key terms, from Action research to Utilitarianism. Each entry includes a concise core definition, a more detailed explanation, and an introduction to the associated debates and controversies. In addition, the book includes a useful outline of the practical application of each term, as well as a list of key figures and recommendations for further reading.

The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.

A complete overview of social indicators, this report addresses the growing demand for quantitative evidence on social well-being and its trends. It includes data for the 34 OECD Member countries and where available data for key partners (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa) and for other G20 countries (Argentina and Saudi Arabia).

Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research.

Focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding America's homeless.

Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.