Religion: Primary Sources in Religion
General Primary Resources in Religion
This tab links to materials related to religion and society. For more, see the "Introduction to Primary Documents" section of the Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America.
-
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America
Extensive A-Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, religious groups, organizations, and agencies shaping religion and law in today's society. Primary sources in this title
-
Infobase Religion and Philosophy Sacred Text Collection100 complete sacred texts from the world’s major religions. From the Bible and the Quran, to the Tibetan Book of the Dead and Daodejing, to Popol Vuh and the Táin bó Cuailnge, some of the most influential religious writings and collections of mythology.
Biblical Passages
-
The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press
The King James or 'Authorized' Version was commissioned in 1603 when James became King of England. It was first published in 1611 and attained a unique authority, gradually superseding all previous versions. The first Cambridge printing was in 1629, establishing a tradition of care for the accuracy of the text that has been maintained to this day. The "KJV" is a classic of the English language and is still a very widely accepted translation.
-
The Book of the Prophet Jeremiah - Chapter 2911 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
-
The Proverbs - Chapter 35 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
-
The Epistle of Paul The Apostle to the Romans - Chapter 122 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.
-
The Epistle of Paul The Apostle to the Philippians - Chapter 48 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.
Religious Right
For primary sources on the religious right, see the "Primary Documents & Quotations" section of The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook.
-
The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin’s theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
-
Religious Right ViewsFrom The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Two criteria were used to select the following primary documents and quotations. First, selections are included dealing with issues that throughout the twentieth century and into the twenty-first have drawn the attention of conservative Christians. Such issues as abortion, restricting prayer in the public schools, the teaching of the theory of evolution, and the call for same-gender marriage have appalled many fundamentalist Christians and energized them to political action. -
Commentary on the Religious RightFrom The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Characteristic of interest group politics in a pluralistic society, the religious right has not gone unchallenged. Therefore, in addition to documents representative of religious right positions, we have included responses from those providing analyses of, and critical commentary on, religious right beliefs, activities, and leaders.
The Qu'ran
-
The Qur'an
The Qur'an, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632.