Oral History: Oral History Projects and Examples

Features a wide diversity of opinion concerning the war and other social and political issues of the day, such as racial prejudice and labor disputes.

Civil Rights Digital Library, Digital Library of Georgia

An ongoing oral history collection with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans conducted through the Library of Congress

From the University of Southern Mississippi. Use the search tool to find several examples of oral history transcripts as well as other primary sources.

Slide backgroundOral history interviews, photos, newspapers, and other primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration through redress with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Institute for Public History, University of Virginia

The Nevada Test Site Oral History Project at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is a comprehensive program dedicated to documenting, preserving and disseminating the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during the era of Cold War nuclear testing.

An ongoing oral history project meant to document the culture of contemporary American workers during an era of economic and social transition, including interviews with workers in scores of trades, industries, crafts, and professions.

The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences, reflecting religious, linguistic, occupational and gender diversity and provide rich insight into changing experiences of South Asians.

This collection of oral histories, completed from 1991 to 1994, contains narratives of 119 individuals describing the activities and people involved in the Civil Rights Movement in the southern states of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, and Mississippi.

This is a collection of oral histories about Southern life as collected by the University of North Carolina.

Since 2003, StoryCorps has collected and archived more than 45,000 interviews with nearly 90,000 participants and is one of the largest oral history projects of its kind.

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

Promotes cultural, racial and religious understanding through unprecedented worldwide access to its collection of Holocaust survivor narratives.

Almost 7 hours of interviews recorded between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. 23 interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. They have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond.(Library of Congress)

"A network of oral historians, activists, cultural workers, community organizers, and documentary artists that use oral history to further movement building and transformative social change."

The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders.

Listen to some of the greatest people of our time telling their life stories, from Stan Lee to Doris Lessing telling stories about their lives and their achievements.

Read, watch, and listen to student interviews of elders who witnessed key historic events of the 20th century.

From The 9/11 Encyclopedia
The events of September 11 are almost impossible to comprehend, but the best testimony to the horrors of that day comes from the survivors. These survivors witnessed acts of heroism and selflessness along with panic and desperation.

From The 9/11 Encyclopedia
The attack on the Pentagon has received much less attention than that on the World Trade Center or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93, but it was still a major attack. Casualties were high, with many of the survivors suffering bad burns. Lieutenant Colonel Ted Anderson's account gives an idea of what happened on September 11 at the Pentagon.

From The 9/11 Encyclopedia
Of all the events on September 11, the hijacking of United Airlines Flight 93 was the most dramatic because of the heroic reaction of its passengers. Realizing that the hijackers were on a suicide mission, the passengers attempted to regain control of the aircraft. The fact that they failed to save their own lives does not diminish their effort. Here is the account of Tom Burnett's role in the effort to regain control of the airliner.

From The 9/11 Encyclopedia
Finding survivors in the wreckage of the World Trade Center was a daunting task. Dog teams were indispensable to that effort. As days passed, the searchers could only hope to find bodies and body parts so that the victims could be identified and their families could have closure. The dog teams were even more critical to these later efforts. It was hard on the dogs, but they performed admirably.

From The 9/11 Encyclopedia
Americans were in a state of shock on September 11, 2001. The unthinkable had happened: a terrorist attack on the United States had killed thousands of Americans. President George W. Bush had been as startled as anybody else in the United States. In this speech, which he gave on the evening of September 11, 2001, he tried to reassure Americans that their government was going to help in the recovery and deal with the terrorists.

From Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History

From Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History

From Conspiracy Theories in American History

From Conspiracy Theories in American History

From Conspiracy Theories in American History

From Conspiracy Theories in American History

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor

From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor