Speech and Communication: Statistics
Contents
Statistics and Data Resources
- EurostatAn authoritative (European Union) source for a vast range of European economic and social data.
- MetaLibThis search engine searches across multiple US federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles and citations whilst providing direct links to selected resources available online.
- NationmasterAn excellent resource for comparing economic statistics by region and industry type.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the PressPolling statistics on matters of national and global importance
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Need more help with Statista?Informational handout with detailed directions on how to use this resource.
- U.S. Census BureauAn incredibly rich source of data for life in the United States.
- Google Public Data ExplorerMakes large datasets, imposed on Bureau of Labor Statistics and U.S. Census data, easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. You don't have to be a data expert to navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings.
Economic Policy and Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- RANDResearch and analysis addressing issues that impact people around the world including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development.
- National Bureau of Economic ResearchNon-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research focusing on statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
- Brookings InstitutionNonprofit organization that conducts research in an effort to make recommendations for policymakers and the public.
- Economic Policy InstituteConducts research and analysis on the economic status of working America, proposing public policies that protect and improve the economic conditions of low- and middle-income workers.
- Urban InstituteProvides economic and social policy research.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThis provides commodity and International Trade statistics by country. You can search the UN Comtrade database (commodity imports/exports to or from specifiable countries or the world) under Statistical Databases, or browse the Publications.
- World Trade OrganizationContains International Trade statistics in the Statistics database from the Documents and Resources tab. There are also International Trade Statistic reports, which contains downloadable Excel tables, as well as other yearly reports going back to 1998.
Global Economics, Policy, and Statistics
OECD Factbook 2015-2016: Economic, Environmental and Social StatisticsOECD Factbook is the best-selling, annual title from the OECD. It provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.
- OECD Factbook (OECD site)A dynamic and comprehensive statistical annual with a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- African Development BankA useful resource for researching African economies and development.
- Central American Bank for Economic IntegrationA useful resource for researching Central American economies and development.
- Data and Statistics from IMFIncludes information about IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators.
- Demographic Yearbook by Statistical Department of the United NationsProvides statistics on population size and composition, fertility, mortality, infant and foetal mortality, marriages and divorces.
- EurostatAn authoritative (European Union) source for a vast range of European economic and social data.
- GDP from The World BankThe gross domestic product (GDP) converted to international dollars using purchasing power parity (PPP) rates.
- International Data Base (IDB)Maintained by the U.S. Census Bureau, IDB tracks the population of foreign countries since 1960.
- Peterson Institute for International EconomicsUseful research and publications devoted to international economic development
- National Bureau of Economic ResearchNon-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research focusing on statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
- NationmasterAn excellent resource for comparing economic statistics by region and industry type.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Statistical Abstract: International StatisticsBoth individual statistics for many countries as well as country-to-country statistics. Compare population, births and deaths, social and industrial indicators, finances, agriculture, communication, and military affairs.
- U.N. Commodity Trade StatisticsInformation and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics.
- U.S. International Trade AdministrationA division of the U.S. Department of Commerce, responsible for enhancing American trade and competitiveness within the global economy.
- UNdataSearch and download statistical resources from the UN, including details about Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
- United Nations - DevelopmentA good resource for statistics and publications concerning international economic development.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionThis provides commodity and International Trade statistics by country. You can search the UN Comtrade database (commodity imports/exports to or from specifiable countries or the world) under Statistical Databases, or browse the Publications.
- World Bank (The) This link opens in a new windowProvides business,economic data reports, and statistics for countries around the world.
- World Development Indicator: Size of the EconomyCreated by The World Bank.
- World Trade OrganizationContains International Trade statistics in the Statistics database from the Documents and Resources tab. There are also International Trade Statistic reports, which contains downloadable Excel tables, as well as other yearly reports going back to 1998.
- World Factbook This link opens in a new windowProvides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for over 275 entities (countries). The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Social Science Statistics
- Census DataProduced by the Census Bureau, this is the premier source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Data.govThis is an official effort by the Federal Government to enable the public to easily find, download, and use datasets generated and held by government agencies.
- Data and Statistics about the U.S.From usa.gov, information on finding both information about the U.S. and information from various government agencies, with quick links to some of the most popular data sets and reports.
- Historical Census of the United StatesAllows you to examine data by census year, going all the way back to the 1790 census. Searching can be done by categories like general population, education & literacy, the economy, ethnicity & race, etc.
- ICPSRThis international consortium maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, and substance abuse.
- Social Trends and Indicators USAIn-depth statistics and analyses for all social issues, including work & leisure, family, education, health & sickness, crime & justice, etc.; a monumental work
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Statistical Abstract: International StatisticsBoth individual statistics for many countries as well as country-to-country statistics. Compare population, births and deaths, social and industrial indicators, finances, agriculture, communication, and military affairs.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesPublished since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Criminal Justice Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics, International Justice StatisticsInternational criminal justice statistics from the BJS publications and the United Nations.
- Federal Bureau of InvestigationStatistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining national and local trends in crime. Includes: Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics with data from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies.
- Federal Justice Statistics Resource CenterThe Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) database containing information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
- International Centre for Prison Studies, World Prison Population ListsPrison population demographics and incarceration rates for over 200 countries.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice DataHosted by the University of Michigan, this resource allows easy access to important criminal justice statistical data, including uniform crime reporting and correctional institution populations.
- Nation Master, CrimeStatistical profiles and international rankings of various criminal topics such as police officers, kidnappings, murder rates, etc.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the PressPolling statistics on matters of national and global importance
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsBrings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S.; tables on various kinds of crimes, arrests, victims, sentencing, parole, prisons, and the death penalty.
- U.S. Bureau of Criminal Justice StatisticsComprehensive statistical data in all categories: crimes & victims, offenders, courts & sentencing, and corrections.
- U.S. Census BureauAn incredibly rich source of data for life in the United States.
- United Nations: Crime Prevention and Criminal JusticeData on reported crimes and the operations of criminal justice systems globally.
- United Nations: Drug Control, Crime Prevention and Counter-TerrorismUN statistics focuses on drugs, human trafficking, corruption, terrorism and organized crime. Links to some full text documents and the annual World Drug Report.
Tax Statistics
- State and Local Governments Tax CollectionsReports the taxes collected in each state for up to 25 tax categories, and gives quarterly estimates of state and local tax revenues.
- IRS Tax StatisticsCompiles statistics on taxes paid to the IRS by businesses and individuals.
- Tax Foundation: DataProvides data tables on tax rates, collections, and tax burdens at the state and federal level.
- https://www.taxpolicycenter.org/statisticsCompiles U.S. data on individual and corporate income taxes, high and low income groups, personal wealth, payroll taxes, estate and gift taxes, and excise taxes. Also provides state comparisons and international comparisons.
- World Tax DatabaseCollects historical data on tax revenues, government expenditures, and tax rates for countries and U.S. states. Covers 1913, 1927, 1932, and 1934-2000 but data can be spotty in some areas.
South Carolina Government and Statistics
- Kids CountYearly reports by the SC Budget & Control Board identify several dozen problems that measure the condition of our children in six major areas: families, economic status, health, readiness and early school performance, student achievement, and adolescent risk behaviors.
- SC.govThe official state website contains links to just about anything on South Carolina. Online resources include the Business One-Stop, license renewals, locations of schools and vital records, and the link to online services.
- SC DHEC: Data & StatisticsFind statistics and surveys on lots of health and environmental topics such as aging, diseases, air quality, and vital statistics.
- South Carolina Agricultural StatisticsThis publication contains statistical information about South Carolina agriculture at the state and county level.
- South Carolina Community ProfilesSouth Carolina Community Profiles is a publication of the SC Budget and Control Board's Office of Research and Statistics that provides U.S. Census Bureau demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics for South Carolina.
- South Carolina Higher Education Statistical AbstractsThe South Carolina Higher Education Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive, single-source compilation of tables and graphs that include statistics on enrollment, degrees awarded, faculty, tuition, funding, and other data.
- South Carolina Statistical AbstractThe South Carolina Statistical Abstract is an online publication containing economic, demographic, and social data produced by a variety of state and federal agencies.
- South Carolina Vital StatisticsIncludes links for Vital and Morbidity, Mortality, Infant Mortality, Pregnancy and Maternal/Child Health statistical publications.
- State Agency Name HistoryA resource which shows the previous and current names of state agencies.
OECD Indicators
- OECD DataFind, compare and share the latest OECD data via charts, maps, tables and related publications; Browse statistics by topics/themes or countries.
- OECD Factbook (OECD site)A dynamic and comprehensive statistical annual with a wide range of key statistics for its member countries and major additional countries.
- OECD Factbook 2015-2016: Economic, Environmental and Social StatisticsOECD Factbook is the best-selling, annual title from the OECD. It provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.
OECD Science, Technology and Innovation Outlook 2016 by Offers information regarding recent and future changes in global science, technology and innovation (STI) patterns and their potential implications on and for national and international STI policies. Based on the most recent data available, the report provides comparative analysis of new policies and instruments being used in OECD countries and a number of major emerging economies (including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, the Russian Federation and South Africa) to boost the contribution of science and innovation to growth and to global and social challenges.
Society at a Glance: OECD Social IndicatorsA complete overview of social indicators, this report addresses the growing demand for quantitative evidence on social well-being and its trends. It includes data for the 34 OECD Member countries and where available data for key partners (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa) and for other G20 countries (Argentina and Saudi Arabia).
Education at a Glance 2016: OECD Indicators by Education at a Glance is the authoritative source for information on the state of education around the world. It provides key information on the output of educational institutions; the impact of learning across countries; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organisation of schools.
