Speech and Communication: Primary Sources on Human Rights Issues
General Primary Resources in the Social Sciences
Human and Civil Rights by Covers the universal guarantees of security of person and freedom of conscience for all individuals regardless of nationality, ethnicity, race, religion, or gender. Included are approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists.
Human Rights
- The Magna CartaThe first to establish a degree of juridical equality between subjects and government, the first step toward acknowledgement of basic rights for all.
- The International Bill of Human RightsFrom Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945
Whereas recognition of the inherent dignity and of the equal and inalienable rights of all members of the human family is the foundation of freedom, justice and peace in the world... - Convention on the Rights of the ChildFrom Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945
The States Parties to the present Convention,
Considering that, in accordance with the principles proclaimed in the Charter of the United Nations, recognition of the inherent dignity and of the equal and inalienable rights of all members of the human family is the foundation of freedom, justice and peace in the world... - Executive Order 9981—Establishing the President's Committee on Equality of Treatment and Opportunity in the Armed ServicesFrom Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
It is hereby declared to be the policy of the President that there shall be equality of treatment and opportunity for all persons in the armed services without regard to race, color, religion or national origin. - Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Excerpts)From Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Sec. 201. (a) All persons shall be entitled to the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations of any place of public accommodation, as defined in this section, without discrimination or segregation on the ground of race, color, religion, or national origin. - American Convention on Human RightsThe Convention, adopted by the Organization of American States in 1969, protects primarily civil and political rights as enumerated here, although it also defines in more detail some of the rights contained in the American Declaration of Human Rights.
- American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of ManThe Declaration, adopted by the Organization of American States in 1948, enumerates the basic human rights referred to in the charter of the Organization of American States. The Declaration proclaims a list of human rights and duties, addressing civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights.
- Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or PunishmentThe Convention declares expressly that there are "no exceptional circumstances whatsoever" that would justify torture and that no orders from superior officers may provide a justification. The Convention also sets forth a set of measures and institutions at the international level to supervise compliance by states with the legal obligations contained in the agreement.
- Convention for the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against WomenThe Convention defines discrimination and provides a map for the development of gender equality in all aspects of life. Member nations are bound to work toward this equality, allowing for the complete exercise of human rights and freedoms by women.
- Additional Protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights in the Area of Economic, Social and Cultural RightsThe Protocol obliges parties to it to take progressive action, according to their degree of development, to achieve observance of, among other rights, the right to work and to just, equitable, and satisfactory conditions of work; the right to organize trade unions and to strike; the right to a healthy environment; the right to education; and the right to the formation and protection of families.
- Human Rights Act of the United KingdomIntroduced in late 1998 in the United Kingdom, the Human Rights Act, partially reproduced here, incorporated into national law the European Convention on Human Rights. The Act gave the courts in England and Wales the right to enforce civil and political rights. Beyond the courts, the Act bound all public authorities to work in compliance with the Convention.
- Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen PointsThe speech outlined Wilson's ideas for national self-determination and sovereignty. The fourteenth point, which called for the establishment of "a general association of nations," led directly to the formation of the League of Nations, the precursor to the United Nations.