Accounting: Databases & Articles
How to use databases:
When using databases, several strategies will help you find relevant information on your research topic:
- use keywords rather than full sentences or phrases – i.e., buying and vehicle and benefits rather than what are the benefits of buying a vehicle?
- try different combinations of keywords to see what different results appear
- use the provided subject headings to repeat your search to find more resources on the same topic
- remember to utilize the filters to narrow down your returns to only include the material you are looking for such as peer-reviewed articles, reference material, ebooks, etc.
You can find a comprehensive list of our databases on the Database A-Z List.
Current Events/News
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowRegional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
- Newswires This link opens in a new windowProvides near real-time access to top world-wide news. Topics include finance, politics and government, state reports, security, emerging threats, sports, and more.
This collection is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press. When a link to a news story is clicked, you are brought to the Detailed Record and HTML Full Text of the story.
Database List
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence compiled into a logical, user-friendly context. Contains business intelligence enhanced by statistical data.
- Business: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowProvides access to S&P industry surveys, stock reports, mutual fund reports, bond reports, corporation records, etc.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAn online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOffers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
- MarketLine Company Profiles This link opens in a new windowComprises thousands of company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, and 110+ country profiles. Also includes Databooks: Company Financial & Top Ten Industry Players Guide, Financial deals, news and opinions, Market Data Analytics.