Languages: Culture
Contents
Art Resources
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews of books, ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
- Literature: Gale This link opens in a new window
Offers broad and representative range of authors and their works, including full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies. Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
If prompted for credentials (off campus), please contact the Library for access.
Research the climate, population, religion, attitudes, customs, and lifestyle of countries around the world. Includes primary source cultural & statistical country reports, states and Canadian provinces, native recipes, interviews, photos and video.
- Spanish ArtsArte, Arquitectura, y Literatura
- Mundo LatinoCultura - Portales Arte/Cultura, Literatura y más
World Music
- Music from CarnivalCommunal celebration, especially the religious celebration in Catholic countries that takes place just before Lent.
- Harvard Dictionary of MusicAnother classic reference work, with entries on all the styles and forms in Western and non-Western music, including classical, pop, jazz, pop, etc.; also good articles on musical instruments.
Literature and the Arts: Authors and Artists
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World LiteratureCovers world authors from many periods and genres, identifying the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain. Entries cover writers, genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in EnglishDocuments the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.
Introduction to Literary Context: World LiteratureWorld Literature covers 41 works-novels, short stories, and poems-written by authors from around the world, published between 1719 and 2003. The titles analyzed here spawned from authors representing England, Ireland, Poland, and Denmark, and many others
- Introduction to Literary Context: World LiteratureDesigned to introduce great works of literature placing them in historical, societal, scientific and religious contexts.
- Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World LiteratureComprehensive new set that places Non-American authors and their principal works in historical and cultural context.
- Chicano poetryFrom The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
The late 1960s and early 1970s were a time of intellectual ferment and rebellion in the United States. Caught up in the unrest, young Mexican Americans throughout the country sought a new identity while struggling for the same civil rights of previous generations. MORE - Guerilla poetryFrom Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
The very designation “guerrilla poetry” raises difficult questions of definition. There was a generation of young people who became revolutionary guerrillas during the 1960s and 1970s; many of them were poets, though their work did not necessarily arise directly out of their experiences of armed struggle. MORE - Judeo-Spanish poetryFrom The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The poetry sung, recited, or written in the Judeo-Sp. (Judezmo, Ladino) dialect, in the various post-diasporic sanctuaries of the Sephardic Jews—North Africa (Morocco, Algeria) and the Eastern Mediterranean (the Balkans, Greece, Turkey, Israel)—after their exile from Spain in 1492. MORE - Native American poetry
From The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The lyric impulse in North Am. Indian cultures is rich, diverse, and persistent. MORE - Gaucho poetryFrom The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Taken literally, G. p. is the name for poetic compositions, anonymous or otherwise, which deal with the life and adventures of the Argentinean cowboy. It would be a mistake to apply the same denomination to all popular poetry produced in Sp. America. MORE - Gabriel García Márquez
Colombian novelist, short-story writer, and journalist, born in Aracataca. - Jorge Luís Borges (1899 - 1986)eArgentine poet, critic, and short-story writer, b. Buenos Aires.
- Pablo Neruda (1904 - 1973)Chilean poet, diplomat, and Communist leader.
- Nicolas Guillen (1902 - 1989)From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Often considered the ‘national poet’ of Revolutionary Cuba, Guillén is one of the most important poets of the African diaspora and a central figure in the Latin American poetic canon. MORE - Antonio Machado (1875 - 1939)From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Spanish poet of the Generation of '98. He spent most of his life in Castile and his best poetry was influenced by its sober and dramatic landscape. MORE - Jose Marti (1853 - 1895)
Cuban essayist, poet, and patriot, leader of the Cuban struggle for independence. One of the greatest prose writers of Spanish America, he is noted for his fluent style and vivid imagery. MORE - Octavio Paz (1914 - 1998)Poet, born in Mexico City, Mexico.
- Frida Kahlo (1907 - 1954)
Mexican artist. Self-taught after a crippling accident at the age of 15 which left her in agonizing pain for life. - Diego Rivera (1886 - 1957)Mexican mural painter, studied as a youth with Posada and other Mexican painters; husband of Frida Kahlo.
Television and Film: Actors, Actresses and Directors
- Pedro Almodóvar (1951 - ): Topic PageSpanish film director and screenwriter; films include All About My Mother (Todo Sobre Mi Madre, 2003).
- Jennifer Lopez (1969 - )From Chambers Film Factfinder
She became a bestselling recording artist and the highest paid Latina actress in the world, noted as much for her diva reputation, shapely derrière and range of perfumes as for her performances. - Anthony Quinn (1915 - 2001)From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Of Mexican-Indian and Mexican-Irish parentage, he was tall, swarthy, and powerfully built, and early in his career played dozens of Native American and outlaw roles. Thereafter, he was cast as a rugged ethnic or exotic of varying backgrounds. - Mario Moreno Reyes (1913 - 1993)From Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
One of the greatest idols of Spanish-language cinema, Mario Moreno Reyes, better known as Cantinflas, gained international recognition through his rendering of a purely local character, the peladito.
Dance
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research database for theater and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theater & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for top performing arts journals and books.
Film
- Film & Television Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Food
Food Culture in South America by This volume tells the story of the South Americans and their history through a survey of their food culture. Classic recipes from many of the countries and illustrations complement the narrative.
Food Culture in the Caribbean by This overview of island food culture is an essential component in understanding the Caribbean past and present.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Introduces food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
Latino Food Culture by ISBN: 9780313087905Surveys pan-Latino food culture--the history of the various groups and their foodstuffs, cooking, meals and eating habits, special occasions, and diet and health. Includes Representative recipes and photos are interspersed in the essays.
The Cambridge World History of Food by Covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements.
Religion
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Religions of the World by Provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, emphasizing larger religious communities without neglecting the world's smaller religious outposts.
Sites and Festivals
- Machu PicchuInca site in Peru, about 50 mi (80 km) NW of Cuzco.
- CarnivalFrom Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Carnival has been celebrated throughout Latin America since colonial times. The best-known places for Carnival celebration are Bolivia, the Caribbean, Cuba, and Colombia. Some of these different types of Carnival syncretize different cultural traditions: European, African, and Amerindian. - Chichén Itzá
From Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Chichén Itzá, one of the largest and most important of the Maya ruins, is located on the low, broad plain that forms the northern part of Mexico’s Yucatán Peninsula.