Languages: Politics
Contents
Political Research
- Global Issues: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, etc. This database integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, etc, Offers over 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, etc.
- Opposing Viewpoints: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, etc. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science,etc.
- Diversity Studies: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Features 174 country guides with 126 content modules each. Topics include culture & society, travel, education, history, holidays and festivals, language, media outlets, music, maps, money, national symbols, and religion. Contains downloadable illustrations with more than 30,000 photos, maps, and flag images.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides content to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. This database assembles controversial information in a non-biased manner for evaluation by the patron.
International Newspapers
Periódicos en América Latina - En esta página se encuentran enlaces a periódicos de Latinoamérica y de países alrededor del mundo.
ABC - One of Spain's largest national newspapers
Cambio 16 - Weekly Spanish general newsmagazine
Canarias7 - from the Canary Islands
El Comercio - from Lima, Peru
Diario de Mallorca - from Mallorca, Spain
El Mundo - a daily newspaper from Spain
El Norte - from Monterrey, Mexico
El Pais - from Spain
La Nacion - One of Argentina's largest national newspapers
La Prensa - from Nicaragua
Prensa Libre - from Guatemala
El Siglo - from Panama City, Panama
El Telegrafo - Ecuador's oldest newspaper
La Tercera - from Chile
El Universal - from Caracas, Venezuela
La Revista - The Sunday magazine from the Spanish daily El Mundo
Marriage, Family, and Gender
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family revises and expands Macmillan's 1995 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, adopting an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
- Women's Issues Worldwide The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide is a six-volume set presenting authoritative, comprehensive, and current data on a broad range of contemporary women's issues in more than 130 countries around the world. Each volume covers a major populated world region: Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, North America and the Caribbean, and Sub-Saharan Africa. Volumes are organized by chapters, with each focusing on a specific country or group of countries or islands, following a broad outline of topics— education, employment and the economy, family and sexuality, health, politics and law, religion and spirituality, and violence. Under these topics, contributors were asked to consider a range of contemporary issues from illiteracy and wage discrepancies to unequal familial roles and political participation and to highlight issues of special concern to women in the country. In this way, the set provides a global perspective on women's issues, ensures breadth and depth of issue coverage, and facilitates cross-national comparison.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Provides indexing and abstracts and is a resource for many related disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Education
World Education Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2002A country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. by Focuses on the fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature.
The Environment
- Gale EnvironmentA collection of eReference sources that provides excellent background articles across the environmental fields, including energy, climate change, etc.
- Agriculture: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides content covering practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Environmental Studies: Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues such as energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, etc.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
Crime and Punishment
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice by Explores various aspects of transnational crimes with a focus on transnational justice, charting the criminal activity and crimes through to prosecution in domestic and international courts.
Crime and Punishment Around the World by Explores crime and punishment throughout the world through the eyes of leading experts, local authors and scholars, and government officials.
