Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eBooks in Human Resource Management
Human Resources Management Research Resources
Business Source Complete
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Social Sciences Full Text
This database covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Note this database includes English language journals only.
Suggested search terms:
- Employee Motivation
- Teams in the Workplace
- Organizational Behavior
- Corporate Culture
- Human Capital
- Diversity in the Workplace
- International Business
- Personnel Management
- Mentoring in Business
- Business Ethics
- Compensation Management
- Employee Morale
- Employee Retention
- Social Responsibility of Business (i.e. Corporate Social Responsibility)
- Sustainable Development
Theories in Human Resource Management
From The New Penguin Business Dictionary
A theory of motivation. An employee will exert more effort when he believes increased effort will result in a good performance appraisal, that a good appraisal will lead to some form of tangible reward (such as a pay rise), and that it will also satisfy personal goals.
From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Intrinsic motivation is a type of motivation based in people’s inherent interest in activities that provide novelty and challenge. Intrinsically motivated behaviors are an expression of an individual’s self and do not depend on external reinforcements.
From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Lit., motivation that originates in factors outside the individual. Behaviour that is motivated by rewards and/or punishments administered by outside forces is extrinsically determined.
Great man theory
From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
A point of view in historical investigations which contends that accomplishments in a field are due primarily to the efforts of great men.
From Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
The term reinforcement contains a considerable amount of diversity of usage in psychology where most of the definitional variations stem from theoretical issues in learning theory concerning what reinforcement is and how it functions.
From The Penguin Dictionary of Economics
The pattern of human motivation built into any economic theory.
Theory X and Theory Y
From The New Penguin Dictionary of Business
Two contrasting theories of employee motivation. Theory X assumes employees dislike work, will attempt to avoid it, dislike responsibility, have a strong desire for security and must be coerced to perform (a negative view of human motivation).
From Collins Dictionary Of Sociology.
A set of principles governing the design of jobs which entail the separation of mental from manual labour, subdivision of tasks, deskilling, close managerial control of work effort and incentive wage payments.
100 Best Companies (Working Mother Magazine)
Provides brief descriptions of company practices that make working for these companies great for mothers.
An independent firm that conducts benchmarking studies on a variety of topics International in scope. Provides both fee based and free studies. Site has lists of companies and subjects of benchmarking. Also provides links to other benchmarking information on the web.
FMCS: Best Practices Page
From the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, case studies of labor, management and other parties resolving conflict.
Fortune Magazine's 100 Best Companies to Work For
The list provides information about the policies and practices that make these companies great.
HRC | Best Places to Work
Best places to work for gays, lesbians, and bisexuals.
Baldridge Performance Excellence Program
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Baldridge Performance Excellence Program aims to "to improve the competitiveness and performance of U.S. organizations for the benefit of all U.S. residents." This site provides information on the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award, which recognizes U.S. companies for their achievements in quality and business performance. A profile of winners is also available.
The Diversity Inc: Top 50 Companies for Diversity
Click on company links to see why they are listed.
Workforce Management's Optimas Awards
This award is given for human resource management.
Management Theorists & Consultants
Chris Argyris (1923 - ): Topic Page
US psychologist and social scientist, who has defined and promoted management theories and strategies for workplace learning and performance.
Peter Drucker (1909 - 2005): Topic Page
Austrian-born management expert, who emigrated to the USA in 1937 and worked as an economist and political scientist before starting a career as a professor of management in 1950.
Gary Hamel (1954 - ): Topic Page
US management consultant and academic. After teaching at the London Business School for ten years from 1983, he moved back to California to found Strategos, an international consulting firm specializing in strategy.
James McKinsey (1889 - 1937): Topic Page
US management consultant and founder of the global company McKinsey & Co. He was a university professor and a member of an accountancy practice when he founded McKinsey in 1926 to give financial and management advice to corporations.
Michael Porter (1947 - ): Topic Page
Leading authority on competitive strategy. Michael Porter is a university professor at Harvard Business School, and an influential thinker on management strategy and economics. His ideas on strategy have become the basis for the required strategy course at the Harvard Business School, and his work is taught in virtually every business school around the world.
Edgar Schein (1928 - ): Topic Page
Throughout his career Schein has been concerned to clarify the relationship between the individual and the organization. His early work has its origins in his observations of Chinese Communists' methods of indoctrination in the Korean War.
Frederick Taylor (1856 - 1915): Topic Page
US engineer, management consultant, and the founder of scientific management.