Management & Leadership: Market and Industry Research
Introduction
No business venture undertaken can be successful without a good understanding of the landscape into which it is started. The key to understanding the terrain of any market is research.
This tab contains:
- This introduction box
- Market Research
- Market Locations
Market Research
These resources are useful for researching a market or potential for one. They offer statistics, surveys showing public opinion, and demographic breakdowns by categories like education level, income, family size, ect., on geographical maps to get an idea of where a product or service might best meet the needs of ready consumers.
- Pew Research CenterSurveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, and lifestyles of Americans. Including the Pew Internet and American Life Project, Pew Global Attitudes Project, and Social & Demographic Trends.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
An online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with mapping and analytics tools. Use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with the provided data.
Market Locations
This box contains resources to help investigate markets and economies regionally, nationally, and globally. Take the temperature of the economy overall or research where might be best to set up a headquarters or sell a given product!
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Research the climate, population, religion, attitudes, customs, and lifestyle of countries around the world. Includes primary source cultural & statistical country reports, states and Canadian provinces, native recipes, interviews, photos and video. Select “World Edition” and browse countries, or search for your favorite destination!
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
- Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps, including biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines.
- AtoZ International Business This link opens in a new window
Contains 100 comprehensive country business guides covering more than 120 content modules each. Topics include business culture, business formation, investment climate, import process, export process, media outlets, advertising and marketing, seaports, taxation, security, etc.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Delivers comprehensive international business intelligence compiled into a logical, user-friendly context. Contains business intelligence enhanced by statistical data.
- World Economic Outlook This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview and detailed analysis of the world economy; issues affecting industrial countries, developing countries, and economies in transition to market; and address topics of pressing current interest. Select "Countries" tab to see economic outlook information.
- World Bank (The) This link opens in a new window
Provides business,economic data reports, and statistics for countries around the world.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)The International Monetary Fund (IMF) works to achieve sustainable growth and prosperity for all of its 190 member countries. It does so by supporting economic policies that promote financial stability and monetary cooperation, which are essential to increase productivity, job creation, and economic well-being. The IMF is governed by and accountable to its member countries.