History: Primary Documents in History

Offers an innovative approach to more than 130 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century."

A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects—social, political, and economic—of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction. Primary sources in this title

Provides in-depth analysis of forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of this important time in American history.

Provides detailed analyses of key documents produced from 1939-1946, including the lead-up to war, Pearl Harbor, domestic aliens, foreign policy, war and victory, the Holocaust, Nuremberg, and the atom bomb.

Now in its second edition, this comprehensive study of the Vietnam War sheds more light on the longest and one of the most controversial conflicts in U.S. history. Primary sources in this title

The 9/11 Encyclopedia offers valuable perspective on this emotionally charged and multidimensional subject. This comprehensive encyclopedia details the events leading up to the attacks, going back a decade prior to 9/11, and covers all the major players involved. Primary sources in this title

An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Primary sources in this title

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nation's defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nation's defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States.
Primary sources in this title

Serving as the ideal place for students and interested readers to begin their research, this A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the post-industrial age.
For primary sources in this title, look for the Appendix entries in the table of contents.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title