Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Higher Education Statistics and Data
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
Core postsecondary education data collection program for NCES. Data are collected from all primary providers of postsecondary education in the country in areas including enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty, staff, finances, more.
Higher Education Data Center
Information including the following: Institutional Information- hiring trends, salary data, student enrollment and more; state finance Information - higher education expenditures, changes in those expenditures over a five-year period, student enrollment trends, and information on average incomes in a particular state; state IPEDS information - trends in your state's higher education faculty salaries, staffing and enrollments; ten year trends in salaries, number of faculty, details about tenure status and non-instructional staff composition are displayed here.
U.S. Census Bureau: School Enrollment
This site contains national school enrollment data as collected by the Census Bureau annually in the Current Population Survey (CPS). National school enrollment data includes statistics on school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, educational attainment, and college enrollment. Current and historical data are included.
Open Doors Online
Supported by a grant from the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State, is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.
US Government Printing Office "FdSYS"
Easily browsable full text of: Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, United States Code, United States Courts Opinions, Congressional Bills, Hearings, Reports, and Records.
Career and Technical Education Statistics (CTE)
The NCES reporting system for national information on career and technical education (CTE) and workforce preparation. The program uses a derived data system—compiling information from a variety of existing federal data collections—to provide a comprehensive national picture of the current status of and recent trends in CTE.
Regional Educational Laboratories (RELs)
Working in partnership with educators and policymakers, RELs conduct applied research and trainings with a mission of supporting a more evidence-based education system.
National Center for Education Statistics
A federal entity within the Department of Education, NCES is charged by Congress to collect, analyze, and report on statistics describing the condition of education in the United States and in other countries. Includes links to:
Higher Education Assessments
Addresses assessment in student affairs, documentation of student learning, student engagement to bridge learner outcomes, assessment in the disciplines, assessments that can transform a culture, and putting students first as partners in the learning enterprise. In doing so, they have focused on what a campus president and his or her team need to know and do to lead assessment successfully on campus and as they set the tone for and facilitate institutional assessments.
Five Dimensions of Quality by
Offers expert guidance on understanding the underlying principles of the expectations of accrediting bodies. Using the model presented here, which is much easier to understand than the sometimes complex resources provided by individual accrediting bodies, American colleges and universities can understand what they need to do to earn and maintain their regional accreditation as well as improve overall institutional quality for their students.
Assessment in Higher Education Periodicals
Assessment in Higher Education
National Survey of Student Engagement
Through its student survey, The College Student Report, NSSE annually collects information at hundreds of four-year colleges and universities about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development. The results provide an estimate of how undergraduates spend their time and what they gain from attending college.
Southern Association of College and Schools
The regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. The Commission’s mission is the enhancement of educational quality throughout the region and it strives to improve the effectiveness of institutions by ensuring that institutions meet standards established by the higher education community that address the needs of society and students.
National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment
Assists institutions and others in discovering and adopting promising practices in the assessment of college student learning outcomes. Documenting what students learn, know and can do is of growing interest to colleges and universities, accrediting groups, higher education associations, foundations and others beyond campus, including students, their families, employers, and policy makers.
Higher Education Outcomes Assessment Commons
An open learning space that curates content for faculty and assessment professionals through housed resources and tools for student learning outcomes, teaching and learning, program review and accreditation.
Tests and Measures
Developing Tests and Questionnaires for a National Assessment of Educational Achievement by
Publication Date: 2008
Helpful for introducing those new to assessment to the activities involved in the development of achievement tests, and includes developing an assessment framework, writing multiple choice and constructed response type items, pretesting, producing test booklets, and handscoring items. A section on questionnaire construction features designing questionnaires, writing questions, coding responses, and linking questionnaire and test score data. The final section covers the development of a test administration manual, selecting test administrators, and contacting sampled schools.
Datasets Relevant to Institutional Research
National Postsecondary Student Financial Aid Study (NPSAS)
NPSAS examines the characteristics of students in postsecondary education in the United States, with focus on how their education is financed. The purpose of NPSAS is to compile a comprehensive research dataset, based on student-level records, on financial aid provided by the federal government, the states, postsecondary institutions, employers, and private agencies, along with student demographic and enrollment data.
National Science Foundation Higher Education Research and Development Expenditures Survey (HERD)
The HERD survey is the primary source of information on research and development (R&D) expenditures at United States colleges and universities. The dataset provides statistics on source of funds and R&D expenditures by field of research at US universities and colleges.
National Center for Education Statistics: Academic Library Statistics
The data are collected through the Academic Libraries Survey, a voluntary survey of approximately 3,700 degree-granting postsecondary institutions conducted biennially by the NCES as part of its Library Statistics Program.
IR and Higher Ed Websites
Other Education Statistical Resources