Higher Education and Assessment: General Concepts in Education

Provides students with essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

The encyclopedia is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education.

Covering the key principles and concepts in the teaching and learning of mathematics in elementary schools, this text provides trainee and practicing teachers with a quick and easy reference to what they need to know for their course, and in the classroom.

The Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts, Second Edition co-sponsored by the International Reading Association and the national Council of Teachers of English - offers a comprehensive overview of research in the field.

An essential reference on research in early childhood education throughout the world.

Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.

An A-Z reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.

An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.

The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editions of assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings are discussed.

Educators explore the intersection of gender and education. Their entries deal with educational theories, research, curricula, practices, personnel, and policies, but also with variations in the gendering of education across historical and cultural contexts.

The authors have gathered the seminal work and most current thinking on adult learning into one work. Addresses a wide range of topics including: Who are adult learners? How do adults learn? Why are adults involved in learning activities? How does the social context shape the learning that adults are engaged in? How does aging affect learning ability?

An up-to-date guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

Focuses on the fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature.

Provides a comprehensive review and critical synthesis of significant theory; a unique cross-national perspective; significant contributions from scholars working in related fields; an increased focus on empirically supported scholarship; and is arranged for quick and easy reference.